Rule of Thirds

30 12 2016

The Rule of thirds in photography, simply defined is a simple principle that helps you take well balanced and interesting photos.  This principle is applied in many cameras today by a mere click of an application that is existent within the camera or in full manual mode, by merely training your eye to position the main focus of your intended camera shoot, balancing the left, right, bottom and top of the shoot, in a landscape shot this would create a picture perfect shot.   The rule of thirds in everyday life is defined as putting your life in perspective.  You visualize your intended goal and focus on it while recognizing that you do not exist in a vacuum thereby including in your visual life picture your immediate surroundings and circumstances because they need to be taken into consideration as potential strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, or threats to attaining your ultimate goal. I have to admit I am one of those people who never really put my life into perspective, until recently.  I had to repeat similar life changing mistakes before I realized that although I had personal objectives I did not have a clear plan of how I would actually attain those objectives. In fact, I hadn’t really defined a clear thought process regarding the same. I actually had never seriously sat myself down and interrogated myself on what I really want out of this life and why. Oh of course I have spieled out dreams, hopes and wishes to myself but I had not actually deliberately worked out a plan on where I am, where I want to be, and how I want to get there. For real, and I am a work plan professional.  I got the wakeup call that I have been coaching people, facilitating them to ask the right questions, motivating them to illustrate their objectives and even providing frameworks to do so, yet I did not have the same written down and agreed with self.   I honestly put this all down to downright laziness on my part. The day I realized this had to change is when I was in a life coach session with one of the youth I coach and I actually felt bogus the more we continued this particular session. I felt like so much of an imposter that during one short written assignment, I had to walk out of my office and coach myself into believing that I am justified in coaching this person but I vowed when this session was over I was going to practice what I preach, so I took myself on a journey to put my life into perspective. I have to admit it was one of the hardest activities I have undertaken in my life and the reason is because I realized although I thought I knew what I wanted, I actually could not focus and pinpoint in one sentence that this is what I want for my life.  I could not do this because I did not have a perspective on what I want out of this life and that is because I had spent a greater part of my life playing an acting role of whom I should be or what is expected of me thereby limiting who I really am.  My conclusion was then that I had to peel away at the layers that I have subconsciously and consciously allowed to outgrow self and focus on getting into the core of this before I could move forward because failure to do this would have meant that I would have planned for someone else’s perspective on life.  There are many people who are living someone else’s life within their own life and the tragedy is that there are so many people who die never having lived their own life.  The saddest part of this is there are so many people who believe they are living the life they have planned and chosen to live until they ask themselves real questions. I mean those real questions that are difficult to answer or the ones you don’t even want to answer even in the privacy of your own room.  That is what Michael Jackson was referring to in his song, “Man in the mirror”.IMG_5315.JPG

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

